Toyota Owners 400 2016: NASCAR winner, recap and results from Richmond

Apr 24, 2016; Richmond, VA, USA; Sprint Cup Series driver Carl Edwards (19) races driver Kyle Busch (18) during the Toyota Owners 400 at Richmond International Raceway. Mandatory Credit: Amber Searls-USA TODAY Sports

Earlier this season at Phoenix, Carl Edwards lost a race on a last-second pass by Kevin Harvick. On Sunday at Richmond, he pulled out a bump-and-run win of his own over Joe Gibbs Racing teammate Kyle Busch.

The victory was Edwards’ second straight after clinching his first of the season at Bristol last weekend. It was also the fourth straight for Joe Gibbs and Toyota Racing after two wins by Busch at Martinsville and Texas.

Busch spoke about losing the race on the last lap following the race.

“It’s racing, I guess,” Busch said on Fox Sports. “We had a really great car. … Maybe not as good as Carl on the long runs, but we did everything right. We did everything we’re supposed to do.”

With the win, Edwards moves into first in the points standings and on the Chase Grid over Kevin Harvick and Busch, respectively. his 331 points are seven more than Harvick and his eight top 10s are tied for the most in Sprint Cup with Harvick.

Speaking of Harvick, the polesitter rounded out the top five with Hendrick teammates Jimmie Johnson and Kasey Kahne finishing third and fourth, respectively. The fourth-place result for Kahne was his first top five of the season after a discouraging stretch to start the year.

“We’ve been getting better each week,” Kahne said. “To me that started three or four weeks ago. We’re going to keep heading in that direction, I know that. Hopefully the performance stays the same.”

Here’s a look at the rest of the results from the Toyota Owners 400 at Richmond.

  1. Carl Edwards
  2. Kyle Busch
  3. Jimmie Johnson
  4. Kasey Kahne
  5. Kevin Harvick
  6. Denny Hamlin
  7. Matt Kenseth
  8. Joey Logano
  9. Martin Truex Jr.
  10. Kurt Busch
  11. Brad Keselowski
  12. Chase Elliott
  13. Dale Earnhardt Jr.
  14. Greg Biffle
  15. Kyle Larson
  16. Jamie McMurray
  17. Trevor Bayne
  18. Ryan Newman
  19. Tony Stewart
  20. Austin Dillon
  21. Aric Almirola
  22. Paul Menard
  23. David Ragan
  24. Danica Patrick
  25. A.J. Allmendinger
  26. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
  27. Landon Cassill
  28. Ryan Blaney
  29. Casey Mears
  30. Matt DiBenedetto
  31. Michael McDowell
  32. Regan Smith
  33. Clint Bowyer
  34. Chris Buescher
  35. Brian Scott
  36. Michael Annett
  37. Ryan Ellis
  38. Jeffrey Earnhardt
  39. Josh Wise
  40. Reed Sorenson

Follow Chicken Bone Alley on Twitter and like us on Facebook.