SpongeBob SquarePants 400 in Kansas starting lineup for Sprint Cup

Image courtesy of @NASCARonNBC.

Joey Logano finally ended the Kevin Harvick stranglehold during qualifying in Kansas. The Team Penske driver put Harvick’s three-straight poles at Kansas to rest with a final speed of 192.397 mph in 28.067 seconds.

Harvick didn’t fall much further, but will not be in the top five on Saturday night. Instead, Kasey Kahne, Brad Keselowski, Martin Truex Jr. and, surprisingly enough, Carl Edwards rounded out the top five. Edwards hasn’t enjoyed a great first season with Joe Gibbs Racing thus far, but does have six finishes of fifth or better in Kansas.

Oh, the irony that the record for the youngest driver to win the pole at Kansas came during the SpongeBob SquarePants 400. The only thing that would have made it better is if he was driving either Ty Dillon or David Ragan’s car with the Nickelodeon characters plastered on the hood.

Image courtesy of @NASCARONFOX.

Image courtesy of @NASCARONFOX.

Greg Biffle narrowly missed out on a top five with his Cheez-It car that donned Patrick Star across the side. None of Patrick’s friends would join him in the top 10 as Kurt Busch, Jamie McMurray and Kyle Larson finished off that group.

Jeff Gordon, who is our favorite to win, will start 11th. Erik Jones, our fifth-tier fantasy pick, made it to the final round of qualifying to start 12th. Here’s a full look at the starting grid for the SpongeBob 400.

  1. Joey Logano
  2. Kasey Kahne
  3. Brad Keselowski
  4. Martin Truex Jr.
  5. Carl Edwards
  6. Kevin Harvick
  7. Greg Biffle
  8. Kurt Busch
  9. Jamie McMurray
  10. Kyle Larson
  11. Jeff Gordon
  12. Erik Jones
  13. Denny Hamlin
  14. Aric Almirola
  15. Ryan Newman
  16. Tony Stewart
  17. Dale Earnhardt Jr.
  18. Matt Kenseth
  19. Jimmie Johnson
  20. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
  21. Clint Bowyer
  22. Paul Menard
  23. David Ragan
  24. Casey Mears
  25. Justin Allgaier
  26. Sam Hornish Jr.
  27. Danica Patrick
  28. Austin Dillon
  29. AJ Allmendinger
  30. Michael McDowell
  31. Trevor Bayne
  32. Ty Dillon
  33. Jeb Burton
  34. Cole Whitt
  35. Matt DiBenedetto
  36. Alex Bowman
  37. JJ Yeley
  38. David Gilliland
  39. Brett Moffitt
  40. Josh Wise
  41. Landon Cassill
  42. Joey Gase
  43. Michael Annett

Be the first to comment on "SpongeBob SquarePants 400 in Kansas starting lineup for Sprint Cup"

Leave a comment