Quaker State 400 2015: Winner, recap and results from Kentucky

Image courtesy of @ToyotaRacing.
Image courtesy of @ToyotaRacing.

Image courtesy of @ToyotaRacing.

Just like that, the Race to the Chase is blown wide open.

Kyle Busch, once a long shot to even get back on the track at the Sprint Cup level, took home his second win of the season at Kentucky. The No. 18 machine immediately went from a car that needed serious help to make NASCAR’s postseason to the catbird seat in one race.

Maybe it was the new rules package that helped. The Joe Gibbs Racing driver took a new downforce package with a reduced spoiler and splitter to Victory Lane with a multitude of different lines at Kentucky.

“It was fun,” Busch said of the new rules package on NBC Sports Network. “We could move around the race track. I tried to move around and find some other options and got back to the lead.”

Busch’s victory was his second at Kentucky in the first five races held at the new track. That puts him in a tie with Brad Keselowski for the most all-time wins at the track. He also pulled in a few more points for leading 163 of the 267 laps and clinching the most laps led.

Joey Logano fell just short of clinching his second win of the season and first at Kentucky. Behind the Team Penske driver was three more JGR cars with Denny Hamlin, Carl Edwards and Matt Kenseth all finishing inside the top five. It was Edwards’ second top five and third top 10 of the year.

Here’s a full breakdown of the final leaderboard in the Quaker State 400.

  1. Kyle Busch
  2. Joey Logano
  3. Denny Hamlin
  4. Carl Edwards
  5. Matt Kenseth
  6. Brad Keselowski
  7. Jeff Gordon
  8. Kevin Harvick
  9. Jimmie Johnson
  10. Kurt Busch
  11. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
  12. Aric Almirola
  13. Trevor Bayne
  14. Jamie McMurray
  15. Paul Menard
  16. Greg Biffle
  17. Martin Truex Jr.
  18. David Ragan
  19. Clint Bowyer
  20. Ryan Newman
  21. Dale Earnhardt Jr.
  22. Sam Hornish Jr.
  23. Casey Mears
  24. Justin Allgaier
  25. Austin Dillon
  26. A.J. Allmendinger
  27. Kasey Kahne
  28. Landon Cassill
  29. David Gilliland
  30. Michael Annett
  31. Alex Bowman
  32. Brett Moffitt
  33. Tony Stewart
  34. Danica Patrick
  35. Kyle Larson
  36. Reed Sorenson
  37. Cole Whitt
  38. Will Kimmel III
  39. J.J. Yeley
  40. Alex Kennedy
  41. Jeb Burton
  42. Matt DiBenedetto
  43. Josh Wise

Follow Chicken Bone Alley on Twitter.