NASCAR Quicken Loans 400 in Michigan starting lineup for Sprint Cup

Image courtesy of @NASCAR.
Image courtesy of @NASCAR.

Image courtesy of @NASCAR.

By this point in 2015, NASCAR fans are used to seeing Hendrick Motorsports topping speed charts and winning races. Jimmie Johnson, Jeff Gordon and Dale Earnhardt Jr. all either have poles or wins this season, but one driver has missed out on the fun.

That all changed on Friday when Kasey Kahne beat out every other driver with his 201.992 mph run in the final round of qualifying at Michigan. Kahne will pace the pack when the checkered flag waves for the first time in nearly three years on Sunday. The last time Kahne won a pole award was back in October 2012 at Kansas.

“It’s going to be really important,” Kahne said after the run. “The track is going to change a lot, though, come Sunday, with all the racing going on this weekend and then our practices (on Saturday).

“The track will be a lot different Sunday. So, there will be some passing for sure, but it’s not going to be easy. So track position will play a big role in being there at the end of the race.”

Just behind Kahne Sunday will be Kevin Harvick, who was the fastest in the two previous rounds. He narrowly missed out on zooming past every driver in all three rounds by .379 seconds behind Kahne.

Brad Keselowski and Carl Edwards showed serious speed by finishing third and fourth while Ryan Blaney shocked the field to take fifth. The part-time driver with Wood Brothers Racing under the hood made a statement on Friday after poor practice times.

His last time out, Blaney finished 42nd at Charlotte following a fourth-place result at Talladega. It wasn’t a memorable run for the 21-year-old driver, but hopefully better starting position will help turn his fortunes around.

Before the Quicken Loans 400 gets underway on Sunday, here’s a full look at the starting order in Michigan.

  1. Kasey Kahne
  2. Kevin Harvick
  3. Brad Keselowski
  4. Carl Edwards
  5. Ryan Blaney
  6. Jeff Gordon
  7. Austin Dillon
  8. Jimmie Johnson
  9. Martin Truex Jr.
  10. Kyle Busch
  11. Joey Logano
  12. Matt Kenseth
  13. Denny Hamlin
  14. Dale Earnhardt Jr.
  15. Tony Stewart
  16. Kyle Larson
  17. Paul Menard
  18. David Ragan
  19. Danica Patrick
  20. Trevor Bayne
  21. Greg Biffle
  22. Ty Dillon
  23. Ryan Newman
  24. Kurt Busch
  25. Jamie McMurray
  26. Aric Almirola
  27. Casey Mears
  28. Alex Bowman
  29. Landon Cassill
  30. Sam Hornish Jr.
  31. A.J. Allmendinger
  32. Clint Bowyer
  33. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
  34. David Gilliland
  35. Michael Annett
  36. Justin Allgaier
  37. Brett Moffitt
  38. Jeb Burton
  39. Josh Wise
  40. Cole Whitt
  41. J.J. Yeley
  42. Mike Bliss
  43. Matt DiBenedetto


Follow Chicken Bone Alley on Twitter.