NASCAR Coke Zero 400: Starting lineup for Sprint Cup in Daytona

Image courtesy of @DaleJr.
Image courtesy of @DaleJr.

Image courtesy of @DaleJr.

The 2015 NASCAR season has been shaped by poor weather on an almost weekly basis. Saturday afternoon was no different as Dale Earnhardt Jr. claimed the pole due to a rain out of the qualifying at Daytona.

After Earnhardt turned in the fastest time during the opening practice, he was set up for the pole position. In fact, Earnhardt and crew chief Greg Ives had the prospect of rain planned ahead on Friday afternoon.

“I asked Greg [Ives] what we were trying to accomplish in that first practice and the first thing he mentioned was to go out that first run and try to put a lap down because the weather wasn’t looking real good for today,” Earnhardt said. “It ended up working out for us.”

Austin Dillon, who won the 2014 Daytona 500 pole, will be on the outside of the front row with Junior. It will be the first time the No. 3 Richard Childress Chevrolet will start alongside Earnhardt without his father behind the wheel. It’s only fitting they are on the front row.

Clint Bowyer, Paul Menard and Trevor Bayne rounded out the top five. With Bayne winning the Daytona 500 in 2011, he has a chance to turn things around for the young regime at Roush Fenway Racing.

Before the start of the Coke Zero 400, here’s a full look at the starting lineup and how they arrived at that position.

1. Dale Earnhardt Jr., Owner Points

2. Austin Dillon, Owner Points

3. Clint Bowyer, Owner Points

4. Paul Menard, Owner Points

5. Trevor Bayne, Owner Points

6. David Gilliland, Owner Points

7. A.J. Allmendinger, Owner Points

8. David Ragan, Owner Points

9. Jamie McMurray, Owner Points

10. Kasey Kahne, Owner Points

11. Sam Hornish Jr., Owner Points

12. Jimmie Johnson, Owner Points

13. Kyle Busch, Owner Points

14. Brett Moffitt, Owner Points

15. Casey Mears, Owner Points

16. Kyle Larson, Owner Points

17. Ryan Newman, Owner Points

18. Michael Annett, Attempts

19. Matt Kenseth, Owner Points

20. Martin Truex Jr., Owner Points

21. Justin Allgaier, Owner Points

22. Landon Cassill, Owner Points

23. Jeff Gordon, Owner Points

24. Carl Edwards, Owner Points

25. Greg Biffle, Owner Points

26. Brian Scott, Owner Points

27. Danica Patrick, Owner Points

28. Kurt Busch, Owner Points

29. Cole Whitt, Owner Points

30. Ricky Stenhouse Jr., Owner Points

31. Tony Stewart, Chevrolet, Owner Points

32. Brad Keselowski, Ford, Owner Points

33. Joey Logano, Owner Points

34. Kevin Harvick, Owner Points

35. Denny Hamlin, Toyota, Owner Points

36. Aric Almirola, Owner Points

37. Alex Bowman, Owner Points

38. Bobby Labonte, Past Champion

39. J.J. Yeley, Attempts

40. Jeb Burton, Attempts

41. Matt DiBenedetto, Attempts

42. Josh Wise, Attempts

43. Brendan Gaughan, Attempts


Follow Chicken Bone Alley on Twitter.