NASCAR 5-Hour Energy 301: Starting lineup for Sprint Cup in New Hampshire

Image courtesy of @NASCAR.
Image courtesy of @NASCAR.

Image courtesy of @NASCAR.

Loudon is the location. Losing is no longer acceptable for drivers still outside of the Chase Grid. With just eight races remaining before NASCAR’s postseason begins, emphasis is being put on reaching Victory Lane.

On Sunday, Carl Edwards will pace the field looking for his second checkered flag of the season. It’s also his first pole since the 2013 season. Despite never winning at New Hampshire, Edwards is ready to conquer the Magic Mile to continue proving that he and Joe Gibbs Racing are here to stay at the top.

“Right now it just feels right,” Edwards told reporters following qualifying. “My hope is that we win this thing. … We’ve been working very hard to bring this team together to be the best that we can be. It just feels right. This is cool. It’s a lot of fun.”

Last weekend was a banner race for JGR with Kyle Busch winning and all four drivers finishing inside the top five. After Friday’s qualifying, it’s clear Gibbs doesn’t plan on slowing down anytime soon with Busch and Denny Hamlin at fourth and fifth, respectively.

While he didn’t make it near the top like Edwards or the other Gibbs drivers, Ryan Blaney did make the cut. The Wood Brothers Racing driver has missed the last two races due to rain canceling qualifying, but he will start 16th on Sunday.

Blaney also has a little extra incentive to get up to the top after his friend Darrell Wallace Jr. congratulated him on making the race.

Before the cars hit the track on Sunday, here’s a look at the full race grid for the 5-Hour Energy 301 at New Hampshire.

  1. Carl Edwards
  2. Joey Logano
  3. David Ragan
  4. Kyle Busch
  5. Denny Hamlin
  6. Kurt Busch
  7. Jimmie Johnson
  8. Matt Kenseth
  9. Kasey Kahne
  10. Brad Keselowski
  11. Jamie McMurray
  12. Kevin Harvick
  13. Landon Cassill
  14. Greg Biffle
  15. Martin Truex Jr.
  16. Ryan Blaney
  17. Kyle Larson
  18. Clint Bowyer
  19. Dale Earnhardt Jr.
  20. Danica Patrick
  21. Casey Mears
  22. A.J. Allmendinger
  23. Jeff Gordon
  24. Austin Dillon
  25. Tony Stewart
  26. Ryan Newman
  27. Sam Hornish Jr.
  28. Paul Menard
  29. Aric Almirola
  30. Justin Allgaier
  31. Trevor Bayne
  32. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
  33. Cole Whitt
  34. Brett Moffitt
  35. Matt DiBenedetto
  36. Jeb Burton
  37. David Gilliland
  38. Michael Annett
  39. J.J. Yeley
  40. Alex Bowman
  41. Eddie MacDonald
  42. Derek White
  43. Timmy Hill


Follow Chicken Bone Alley on Twitter.