Ford EcoBoost 400 2015: NASCAR Winner, champion and recap from Homestead-Miami

Image courtesy of @NASCAR.
Image courtesy of @NASCAR.

Image courtesy of @NASCAR.

Kyle Busch pulled away on the final restart to complete one of the most unbelievable comebacks in NASCAR history. After breaking his leg on the track before the Sprint Cup season started, he stood as the champion and race winner at Homestead-Miami Speedway.

Busch had Kevin Harvick breathing down his neck during the final seven laps, but was not fazed. The No. 18 machine drove to Victory Lane with a championship in tow for Joe Gibbs Racing. It’s the team’s fourth title and first for Toyota Racing.

“Yeah! You guys are awesome!” Busch told his crew. “Oh my God! I don’t know if I quite understand life yet, but there’s something about this year.”

Harvick would ultimately finish second on the afternoon and second in points. Jeff Gordon finished sixth in his final race of his career while Martin Truex Jr. finished 12th in the race and fourth in points.

Busch not only bounced back from an early injury, he also fought back after receiving a Chase waiver from NASCAR. He won four races and remained consistent throughout NASCAR’s postseason to become one of the final four drivers at Homestead.

Rather than resting on his laurels, Busch charged to the front and stayed there nearly all night. Even a questionable debris caution with 11 laps remaining couldn’t hold him back. Busch charged from the second position to emphatically claim his first Cup championship with his son, Brexton, and wife, Samantha, celebrating with him.

While Gordon didn’t come away with a win in his final race, his third-place finish in the Chase is far better than most imagined after the regular season. The final four races were filled with fantastic moments that put a great bookend to Gordon’s illustrious career.

“To get an opportunity to race at this level, to have the success that I’ve had, to have the sponsors that we’ve had and to have the fans that we have,” an emotional Gordon said after the race. “The first one to the car was the team and Rick Hendrick and then my family.  That is all that really matters to me. Those people are so important to me and make this all worthwhile.

“I told everybody before the race that no matter what we are going to be happy and celebrate. That is exactly what we are going to go do.”

As Busch celebrates his first title and Gordon rides off into the sunset, every other team heads into the offseason yearning for more in 2016. Oh, and we’re just 91 days away from the Daytona 500.

Here’s a look at how every driver finished on Sunday in the season finale.

  1. Kyle Busch
  2. Kevin Harvick
  3. Brad Keselowski
  4. Joey Logano
  5. Kyle Larson
  6. Jeff Gordon
  7. Matt Kenseth
  8. Kurt Busch
  9. Jimmie Johnson
  10. Denny Hamlin
  11. Carl Edwards
  12. Martin Truex Jr.
  13. Jamie McMurray
  14. Austin Dillon
  15. Greg Biffle
  16. Ryan Newman
  17. Ryan Blaney
  18. Trevor Bayne
  19. Kasey Kahne
  20. A.J. Allmendinger
  21. Paul Menard
  22. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
  23. Ty Dillon
  24. Danica Patrick
  25. Sam Hornish Jr.
  26. Alex Bowman
  27. David Ragan
  28. Cole Whitt
  29. Tony Stewart
  30. Michael Annett
  31. Brett Moffitt
  32. David Gilliland
  33. Michael McDowell
  34. J.J. Yeley
  35. Landon Cassill
  36. Justin Allgaier
  37. Matt DiBenedetto
  38. Ryan Preece
  39. Josh Wise
  40. Dale Earnhardt Jr.
  41. Aric Almirola
  42. Casey Mears
  43. Clint Bowyer


Follow Chicken Bone Alley on Twitter and like us on Facebook.