Federated Auto Parts 400 2015: Winner, recap and results from Richmond

Image courtesy of @JoeGibbsRacing.
Image courtesy of @JoeGibbsRacing.

Image courtesy of @JoeGibbsRacing.

The Joe Gibbs Racing reign in NASCAR continued on Saturday night in the final race of the regular season. There was no surprise winner to make the Chase as Matt Kenseth took the checkered flag for the fourth time this season at Richmond.

Kenseth comes into the Chase on fire with three wins in his last six races. While he didn’t finish well at Darlington or Bristol, he won’t have to race at either track in the Chase. His fourth win also solidified him as the No. 2 seed behind Jimmie Johnson next week.

Gibbs was the story again on Saturday night, running 1-2-3 nearly all night long with Kenseth, Denny Hamlin and Kyle Busch all trading off the lead. Joey Logano, who started on the pole, was the only other driver to lead laps with 25 to start off the Federated 400.

“I think it’s a total team effort,” Joe Gibbs said of the win. “Everybody over there has worked so hard. […] Now the problem is I’ll be ready to throw up in the next three weeks.”

That’s the interesting part about the Chase. No matter how well you’ve performed during the regular season, not performing well in the first round means the end of the season for four drivers.

JGR wasn’t the only winner on Saturday night, however. With the regular season coming to a close, the Chase is now locked with Jamie McMurray, Ryan Newman, Jeff Gordon, Clint Bowyer and Paul Menard clinching the final spots without a win. None of them come in with a victory, but Newman’s run without a win to the Championship Round has to instill confidence in all five teams.

  1. Matt Kenseth
  2. Kyle Busch
  3. Joey Logano
  4. Aric Almirola
  5. Dale Earnhardt Jr.
  6. Denny Hamlin
  7. Jeff Gordon
  8. Brad Keselowski
  9. Jimmie Johnson
  10. Clint Bowyer
  11. Carl Edwards
  12. Kyle Larson
  13. Jamie McMurray
  14. Kevin Harvick
  15. Kurt Busch
  16. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
  17. David Ragan
  18. Kasey Kahne
  19. Danica Patrick
  20. Ryan Newman
  21. Casey Mears
  22. Brian Scott
  23. Trevor Bayne
  24. A.J. Allmendinger
  25. Justin Allgaier
  26. Paul Menard
  27. Austin Dillon
  28. Sam Hornish Jr.
  29. Tony Stewart
  30. Landon Cassill
  31. Greg Biffle
  32. Martin Truex Jr.
  33. David Gilliland
  34. J.J. Yeley
  35. Brett Moffitt
  36. Matt DiBenedetto
  37. Alex Bowman
  38. Cole Whitt
  39. Jeb Burton
  40. Jeffrey Earnhardt
  41. Reed Sorenson
  42. Michael McDowell
  43. Michael Annett



Follow Chicken Bone Alley on Twitter and like us on Facebook.