Coke Zero 400 2015: Winner, recap and results from Daytona

Image courtesy of @FoxSports.

Image courtesy of @FoxSports.

It took until early Monday morning to complete a night race at Daytona, but Dale Earnhardt Jr.  came away with a massive win in the Coke Zero 400. The triumph was his second of the season, with both coming at superspeedways at Talladega and Daytona.

Earnhardt led most of the night with contenders like Denny Hamlin and Jimmie Johnson getting out front throughout the night. But when it was all said and done, no one could stop the No. 88 machine from driving to Victory Lane again.

The bigger story after the race was a massive wreck behind Junior as Austin Dillon went flying into the catchfence. His car was ripped apart after contact with Hamlin as the engine for the No. 3 was left behind. Dillon climbed out from the car on its roof and waved to the crowd.

“I’m more thankful that everybody’s OK than I am to be standing here in Victory Lane,” Earnhardt said following the race on NBC’s broadcast.

It wasn’t the only wreck of the night as Joey Logano and Danica Patrick were caught up in an early wreck. Later in the race, Kasey Kahne and Martin Truex Jr.’s nights took a huge hit when they made contact.

While they were involved in the massive wreck to close out the race, Hamlin and Dillon still came away with great finishes at third and seventh, respectively. Here’s a look at the full leaderboard at the end of the race.

  1. Dale Earnhardt Jr.
  2. Jimmie Johnson
  3. Denny Hamlin
  4. Kevin Harvick
  5. Kurt Busch
  6. Jeff Gordon
  7. Austin Dillon
  8. Ryan Newman
  9. Trevor Bayne
  10. Clint Bowyer
  11. Casey Mears
  12. David Ragan
  13. Landon Cassill
  14. Tony Stewart
  15. Jamie McMurray
  16. Paul Menard
  17. Kyle Busch
  18. Justin Allgaier
  19. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
  20. Greg Biffle
  21. A.J. Allmendinger
  22. Joey Logano
  23. Matt Kenseth
  24. Alex Bowman
  25. Cole Whitt
  26. Matt DiBenedetto
  27. Brett Moffitt
  28. Brendan Gaughan
  29. Brad Keselowski
  30. Sam Hornish Jr.
  31. Josh Wise
  32. Kasey Kahne
  33. J.J. Yeley
  34. Aric Almirola
  35. Danica Patrick
  36. Jeb Burton
  37. Michael Annett
  38. Martin Truex Jr.
  39. Kyle Larson
  40. David Gilliland
  41. Carl Edwards
  42. Brian Scott
  43. Bobby Labonte


Follow Chicken Bone Alley on Twitter.