Cheez-It 355 2015: Winner, recap and results from Watkins Glen

Image courtesy of @NASCAR.
Image courtesy of @NASCAR.

Image courtesy of @NASCAR.

Joey Logano won his first road course race at the NASCAR level on Saturday in the Xfinity race. On Sunday, the Team Penske driver pulled off the sweep in the Cheez-It 355 after Kevin Harvick ran out of fuel on the last lap.

The No. 22 machine, much like Matt Kenseth the week prior, benefited from a gutsy call by the leader. This time around, it was Harvick, not Logano, who ran out of fuel and narrowly got back to the line in the third position. Ironically enough, it was Logano who ran out of fuel Pocono and dropped to 20th.

“I felt pretty sure the No. 4 was going to run out … and right at the end we were able to get by him,” Logano said on the NBCSN broadcast. “I never thought this would happen at a road course. This is the coolest weekend of my life.” Logano was a huge story, but Kyle Busch made some news as well by finishing second and moving into the Chase Grid. While he’s not officially into the Chase until after the Richmond race, Busch’s finish put him in position with four races on the schedule.

A.J. Allmendinger, the defending winner at the Glen, had mechanical issues midway through the race and was unable to clinch a victory. Starting from the pole, Allmendinger needed a win on a road course in order to make his way to the Chase again.

Here’s a look at the full leaderboard following the Cheez-It 355.

  1. Joey Logano
  2. Kyle Busch
  3. Kevin Harvick
  4. Matt Kenseth
  5. Kurt Busch
  6. Clint Bowyer
  7. Brad Keselowski
  8. Carl Edwards
  9. Sam Hornish Jr.
  10. Jimmie Johnson
  11. Dale Earnhardt Jr.
  12. Kyle Larson
  13. Paul Menard
  14. Greg Biffle
  15. Ryan Newman
  16. Aric Almirola
  17. Danica Patrick
  18. Casey Mears
  19. Justin Allgaier
  20. Michael McDowell
  21. Cole Whitt
  22. Trevor Bayne
  23. David Ragan
  24. A.J. Allmendinger
  25. Martin Truex Jr.
  26. Matt DiBenedetto
  27. Denny Hamlin
  28. Alex Kennedy
  29. Alex Bowman
  30. J.J. Yeley
  31. Michael Annett
  32. Boris Said
  33. David Gilliland
  34. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
  35. Landon Cassill
  36. Austin Dillon
  37. Chris Buescher
  38. Timmy Hill
  39. Jeb Burton
  40. Jamie McMurray
  41. Jeff Gordon
  42. Kasey Kahne
  43. Tony Stewart

Follow Chicken Bone Alley on Twitter.