Brickyard 400 2015: Winner, recap and results from Indianapolis

Image courtesy of @NASCARONFOX.
Image courtesy of @NASCARONFOX.

Image courtesy of @NASCARONFOX.

The dominance of Kyle Busch simply can’t be stopped. Busch followed up two straight wins at Kentucky and New Hampshire with a third consecutive in the Brickyard 400. It also completed a weekend sweep after Busch won the Xfinity race on Saturday.

Busch’s triumph gives Joe Gibbs Racing and Toyota Racing their first win at Indianapolis Motor Speedway.

When asked about how he’d describe the run by Busch on the NBC Sports Network broadcast, crew chief Adam Stevens said, “It’s a championship run. We’re now transitioning from trying to make the Chase to running for a championship.”

After the masterful performances that we’ve seen since his return, it’s hard to imagine Busch won’t be in the Chase for the Sprint Cup. He’s still outside of the top 30 in points, but only by a narrow margin following his win. In his final attempt at winning a sixth Brickyard 400,

Jeff Gordon saw his day end in unfortunate fashion. The No. 24 machine was involved in an early wreck and returned to the course at 43rd after his team repaired the damage.

Along with Gordon, teammate Dale Earnhardt Jr. would later spin and lost position after a strong run at Indy. Tony Stewart, who was running up in the top five much of the afternoon, also lost position late and continued his struggles this season.

Prior to Gordon’s wreck, there was an odd debris caution at Indianapolis after balloons were discovered on the track. Balloons from the opening of the race returned to the track and brought out the yellow flag. It was also a source of some hilarious reactions around NASCAR.

Here’s a look at the full results from the Brickyard 400, including Busch on top of the leaderboard again.

  1. Kyle Busch
  2. Joey Logano
  3. Kevin Harvick
  4. Martin Truex Jr.
  5. Denny Hamlin
  6. Clint Bowyer
  7. Matt Kenseth
  8. Kurt Busch
  9. Kyle Larson
  10. Brad Keselowski
  11. Ryan Newman
  12. Ryan Blaney
  13. Carl Edwards
  14. Paul Menard
  15. Jimmie Johnson
  16. Jamie McMurray
  17. Sam Hornish Jr.
  18. Chase Elliott
  19. Greg Biffle
  20. Casey Mears
  21. David Ragan
  22. Dale Earnhardt Jr.
  23. A.J. Allmendinger
  24. Kasey Kahne
  25. Austin Dillon
  26. Landon Cassill
  27. Danica Patrick
  28. Tony Stewart
  29. David Gilliland
  30. Michael Annett
  31. Michael McDowell
  32. Matt DiBenedetto
  33. Cole Whitt
  34. Brett Moffitt
  35. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
  36. Brian Scott
  37. Justin Allgaier
  38. Aric Almirola
  39. J.J. Yeley
  40. Trevor Bayne
  41. Timmy Hill
  42. Jeff Gordon
  43. Alex Bowman

Follow Chicken Bone Alley on Twitter.