AAA 400 2015: NASCAR Winner, recap and results from Dover

Image courtesy of @NASCAR.
Image courtesy of @NASCAR.

Image courtesy of @NASCAR.

Was there ever any doubt?

For the second straight week, Kevin Harvick thoroughly dominated the rest of the Sprint Cup field at Dover. Only this time, after leading 355 of 400 laps Harvick took the win and clinched a berth into the Contender Round of the Chase.

“Obviously we weren’t in a great position coming into today,” Harvick said during the NBCSN broadcast. “But that’s what these guys are made of. That’s what teamwork’s all about. … This is what it’s all about. Those big time moments.”

After finishing 42nd in Chicagoland and running out of fuel last weekend, Harvick’s only shot at making it to the next round hinged on earning a win. With that victory, he jumped from 15th at the beginning of the race to third and kept his hopes of winning back-to-back championships alive.

While Harvick was jubilant in Victory Lane, four drivers were left dejected.

Jamie McMurray, Jimmie Johnson, Paul Menard and Clint Bowyer all missed the cut for the Contender Round. Johnson had car troubles midway through the race before going 36 laps down to miss the Chase. McMurray finished fourth to tie with Dale Earnhardt Jr. in points, but lost the tiebreaker due to Junior’s third-place finish, which was the best among the two in the opening round.

In all, just 12 drivers advanced to the Contender Round that starts next weekend in Charlotte. Here’s a look at the results from the Dover Chase race.

  1. Kevin Harvick*
  2. Kyle Busch*
  3. Dale Earnhardt Jr.*
  4. Jamie McMurray
  5. Aric Almirola
  6. Kasey Kahne
  7. Matt Kenseth*
  8. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
  9. Kyle Larson
  10. Joey Logano*
  11. Martin Truex Jr.*
  12. Jeff Gordon*
  13. Greg Biffle
  14. Clint Bowyer
  15. Carl Edwards*
  16. Brad Keselowski*
  17. Kurt Busch*
  18. Denny Hamlin*
  19. Ryan Newman*
  20. Sam Hornish Jr.
  21. Danica Patrick
  22. David Ragan
  23. Austin Dillon
  24. Casey Mears
  25. Paul Menard
  26. Tony Stewart
  27. Justin Allgaier
  28. Cole Whitt
  29. A.J. Allmendinger
  30. David Gilliland
  31. Trevor Bayne
  32. Alex Bowman
  33. Reed Sorenson
  34. Matt DiBenedetto
  35. J.J. Yeley
  36. Josh Wise
  37. Michael Annett
  38. Alex Kennedy
  39. Timmy Hill
  40. Landon Cassill
  41. Jimmie Johnson
  42. Brett Moffitt
  43. Jeb Burton

*Advanced in Chase

Follow Chicken Bone Alley on Twitter and like us on Facebook.